Abstinence


English: fart lighting in progress

Image via Wikipedia

I woke up this morning feeling off.  There was a dull pain rummaging through my head and music coming from my ass.  Yes, that’s right, I was farting, full of stinky farts.  I am a female, I fart.  Everybody farts.

Why the headache and gas?  I have narrowed it down to two things:  eating a fibrous diet and drinking.  My overall intake yesterday was well-balanced;  whole grains, nuts, fruits, spinach, kale, carrot-ginger soup…I hit all the bases, nothing out of the ordinary that would cause these symptoms.  Except for the beer that I had after work.  Oh and the free shot that apparently is just handed out when you go to Rafters with Dani at 12:45am.  I believe in moderation, a beer after work is fine.  A beer and a shot when well hydrated is fine too. But is it fine for me?  I am really starting to think that drinking alcohol is not okay with my body.  I abstained from alcohol the entire month of January.  I thought it was going to be really quite a challenge, especially considering that I work in a bar/restaurant where we have over 20 beers on tap, exceptional brews at that.  But it wasn’t a challenge.  In fact, the further along in January I went without drinking alcohol, the better I felt.  I never had a headache, I was never hung over, I did not experience carb cravings at 1am..

My ability to listen to my body is a trait that I abuse here and there, but this time I really am listening to what it is trying to tell me.  It does not appreciate alcohol.  I will again abstain.

Leave a Reply

