Mindfulness


Being Present in the Here and Now

Stop whatever you are doing right now.  If there is music on, pause it.  If the tv is on, turn it off.  Where are you?  Literally, in your body, as well as mentally.  Where are you in this exact moment.  What is your breathing like?  Are you taking short, shallow breaths that are really only giving your body half of the oxygen that it needs?  What is your posture like?  Have you ever just sat back and looked at these things?

Fridays are long days for me.  I try to wake up early enough to workout, prepare food for the day, and spend a little time with Nick before going in to the restaurant for a double.  Usually there is a pretty reliable lunch crowd and things can get pretty busy. At these times it’s almost like I can switch into autopilot and before I know it four hours have gone by and I wasn’t really even present for any of it.  There is something about waitressing where being in autopilot isn’t really that awful of a thing.  It’s a flow.  But when it gets busy like this I have noticed that my breathing changes.  It becomes short and shallow.  As I enter a tables’ order into the computer I try to take a step back and re-center myself.  I’ll start off by taking a nice big inhale, fully exhaling and trying to release any stress.  Then I allow my breathing to return to a nice steady rhythm of full inhalations and exhalations.  Granted this may only last for a minute but it’s a way for me to stay present.  All the chaos of the restaurant and everyones needs and demands can be overwhelming, but I swear that if I kind of just remove myself from the situation for a moment and then come back, it’s really not so bad.

Something (or many things) in your life can make you want to go crazy.  Try to keep in mind that it is really all about how you allow it to affect you.

 

Friday’s Workout

25 minutes of moderate cardio.  My idea was to run but unfortunately my hip had other plans.  I ended up splitting up the time between two different ellipticals, one of which was more like a stairclimber.  I was working pretty hard, got a nice sweat going.

3 Rounds of this mini circuit:

Curtsy squat with 12lbs in one hand, 12 reps

Modified Russian Twists with 8lb medicine ball, 12 reps

Pushup to side plank, 12 reps

Reverse butt pulses…don’t really have a clever name for these but on all fours, raise one leg behind you, bend the leg forming a 90 degree angle.  Try not to let the leg fall below horizontal.  From here, pulse up and down 20 times.

Food Intake

Meal one:  1/2 grapefruit;  Frittata with bacon, onion, and kale;  Coffee

Meal two:  Mixed berries (blueberries, raspberries, and strawberries) with 3/4 Fage 2% and ground flax;  other 1/2 of grapefruit

Meal three:  Mixed greens and romaine tossed in a carrot ginger dressing;  1/2 cup of spaghetti squash;  1/4 cup of sunflower seeds

Meal four:  about 1/2 cup of baby carrots;  Chickpea, fennel, and onion soup, about 1 1/2 cups

I am not sure how I will be feeling later on tonight at work so I may have one more salad while there.  But then I have leftovers from last night which I will just reheat and eat with Nick when we both get home around 9:30 – 10pm…cause who really wants to cook at that time?

Leave a Reply

