Workout for Saturday, 1/5/2013


I didn’t want to spend too much time at the gym today so I planned for a combined cardio/strength training circuit.  In all, it took me about 40 minutes.

Cardio:

  • 10 minutes on a Spinner bike.  These bikes are legit.  You can really push hard on a spinner.  I popped my headphones in, set up a timer, and then pedaled my ass off.  If the beat increased then so did either my resistance or my speed, sometimes both.  I performed jumps for the entirety of one song, completely kicking my ass.  10 minutes doesn’t seem like a substantial amount of time but let me tell you, if you really push hard, like dripping bullets of sweat-panting like an animal hard, then its worth it.

Strength Circuit #1, repeat 3 times, very little rest (>1min between each set):

  • 15 pushups via TRX
  • 15 knee tucks via TRX
  • 15 squats with a 10 lb medicine ball catch

Cardio:

  • 10 minutes on the Spinner, all out.  Again, changing to the beat of my electro tunes.  

Strength Circuit #2:

  • 15 deep squats to vertical jumps, aiming to touch the bar above me
  • 10 rainbow reaches on each side, with a 10 second hold
  • 20 tricep dips on a bench

I was pretty flushed, and truthfully slightly dizzy after my last set of vertical jumps.  All in all, I felt like this was a very purposeful workout, really very productive.

 

 

3 responses to “Workout for Saturday, 1/5/2013

  1. Wow, that looks like an awesome workout. Short, sweet, and to the point. I look forward to trying that! TRX looks like a great system, been looking at it for a little while…my gym has them, but haven’t reached beyond my typical routines.

  2. Reblogged this on Road to Active and commented:
    Hi Readers! I had to share this, because the workout is relatively short and simple. For those who may not have the TRX system at their home or gym, you can always simulate the exercise by doing the pushups with your feet on a chair, bench, or nothing at all.

Leave a Reply

