As promised: Beginners Guide & How to Start


I realize that my workouts are not cut out for everyone, which to me makes sense.  Why?  Well, each individual is different, that’s what makes us unique, beautiful beings.  So why would my workout work for you?  I want my site to be practical for those who follow along, so I’ve been brainstorming and have some exciting news:

I am proud to present to you, my

Beginners Series!

To address the issue of providing you the reader with useful information that can be applied to your day to day life,  I have decided to make a mini series of beginners workouts.  I will post three workouts per week, in the below format, that you can use as is or use as a template/guide to design your own workout.

Format for workouts:

  • Listed on site
  • Short (10 min or less) video demonstrating the correct form of each exercise as well as helpful reminders

I have divided the workouts into three body specific sections:

  • Upper Body
  • Core
  • Lower Body

These workouts will consist of 4 exercises, each of which will be listed as having the goal of completing 3 sets of 12 repetitions per exercise.  Now, this is ideal for a beginner.  What if you are not a beginner?  Here are some options:

  • Addition of weights
  • Addition of repetitions
  • Addition of cardiovascular spurts (like mountain climbers, jumping jacks, etc)
  • Shorten your rest periods

I recommend you purchase the following items or provide yourself with a gym membership where hopefully they will have the following tools:

  • a stability ball
  • dumbbells, with a lighter weight and a heavier weight, say 3lbs and 5lbs, or 5lbs and 8lbs, or something like 10lbs and 15lbs
  • resistance tubing
  • a yoga mat, for yoga/stretching but also for cushioning your knees and back
  • a timer;  download an app or use the standard clock/watch
  • a journal to document your stats

What about diet?  

image courtesy of:  http://piccsy.com/

image courtesy of: http://piccsy.com/

My thoughts on diet are exactly that, my thoughts.  I do indeed have a degree in Nutrition but what I was taught was to follow the food guide pyramid, or what is now called My Plate.  I think that My Plate is in general rubbish but at least a step in the right direction towards a healthier diet.  If you are someone who considers potato chips to be a good vegetable source and fruit-at-the-bottom yogurts are healthy, well then, My Pyramid is just for you!

For me, healthy eating is centered around logic and mindfulness.  I am a follower of a ‘whole foods’ mentality.  This does not mean I shop only at Whole Foods, although a majority of the time that is where you will find me when I am not working or working out.  This ‘whole foods’ concept means that I strive to eat foods in their natural state.  Whole fruits, not dried, not candied, not coated in syrup.  Vegetables that I need to cut up and season myself as opposed to the premade ones that carry with them an additional 200 calories.  Meat that is farm raised and free of hormones*.

In general my guidelines are:

  • Eat fruits, vegetables, lean meats, lean poultry, and fish/shellfish
  • Eat nuts in the raw state, no added salts.
  • Nut butter:  almond and/or cashew, sometimes macadamian, all unsalted and raw
  • Grains are limited.  Ones that I have on hand are:
    • Ezekial sprouted bread, usually sesame and cinnamon raisin variety
    • oatmeal and steel cut oats
  • Coffee in the a.m, tea in the afternoon if I need a pick me up.  Both are black
  • Dairy:  2% or 0% (prior to competing) Greek yogurt, plain.
  • Dairy substitutes:  Unsweetened coconut milk and almond milk

Figuring out where you stand now in terms of caloric intake is extremely helpful and very enlightening.  I recommend either downloading an app for your phone or going old school like me and using pen and paper to record what it is you are eating.  I include my serving size and the amount of calories that each item contains.  This way, when it comes time for me to tighten up that very last bit, I know exactly how many calories I need to cut from my diet each day.  Putting in a little effort is what this is all about!

I could go on for days and days about diet.  I just wanted to give you a quick idea of what works for me.  Just like with my workouts, my diet may not work for you.  You may have to tweak some things.  The trick is to be mindful.  When things aren’t working, take a look at the big picture and figure out why.

*After reading an Omnivore’s Dilemma, I am unsure of most packaging but I am not in a place in my life where I can afford every meal is in fact farm raised and not hormone free.  This saddens me, greatly.

Leave a Reply

