KISS: Keep it simple, Keep it smart


In my morning stroll along the interwebs of fitness related content I stumbled across an article that I felt I needed to share.  Within the last month or so the amount of people that approach me and compliment me on my body is baffling and humbling.  It instantly puts a smile on my face cause lets be honest, who doesn’t love receiving compliments?  Most of these people, and by most I’d say 90%, assume that I follow a super strict diet that consists of no carbohydrates and that I do at least an hour of cardio a day.  I need to set the record straight, and this article sums it up perfectly.

“Sometimes we need to take a step back from ‘carb-aphobia’ mentality and go back to basics of nutrition… KISS: keep it simple smart! Eat clean, eat often and enjoy the process.”

“Slowly add foods that you have been restricting from your diet in small amounts and your metabolism will pick up immediately. The good news is that our metabolisms are also smart the other way. Once there is enough fuel, the body will burn it and more. You’ll know right away because you will be hungry.”

My diet is a clean diet.  I don’t really like to think of it as a diet either.  It is in fact a lifestyle.  I am not doing this for a certain period of time, to lean out for a show or to look good in a bikini.  This is for life.  I feel like those who follow a clean diet have the same thoughts as once you switch to a clean diet you don’t want to go back to yo-yo dieting patterns or a loose style of eating because when you do you feel like utter shit.  When you eat clean you feel clean.  There are no more episodes of me not being able to shit for 5 days.  I no longer have swollen fingers when I go on walks or when I wake up in the morning.  I no longer have hangovers or sugar crashes.  Instead, I feel nice and stable throughout my day.  I feel lean and don’t miss my belly bloat.  Why would I want to go back to my old ways when I feel so damn good now?

There are people out there who go to extremes.  They cut all carbs or do insane amounts of exercise.  It doesn’t have to be that way!! Slow and steady will always be the way to long term success.  Eating clean and performing moderate amounts of exercise will give you the results you are looking for.  Everyone wants instant results.  Well, too bad.  Put in the work and be patient.  You will be happier in the long run!

 

Leave a Reply

