Dietary Adjustments for January


Being late, per usual, I am jumping into January with a new attitude and approach to my overall fitness and personal wellbeing.  I have felt lethargic, unmotivated, and downright crappy for a little while now (less than a month….which is long enough!) and I am taking control and forcibly turning that all around.  Sometimes you have to step in and take control of your emotions, ya know?

I think that my extreme dieting for my last show was the culprit of such feelings as I have experienced this before, after my previous shows.  It’s like your on top of the world pre-show and then you crash afterwards.  Well, enough is enough.  Fuck dieting for a show.  Fuck leaning out.  Fuck long bouts of cardio.  No more.  But for real, no more of that bullshit.  Eating for health year round is what I’m about.  As of right now, that’s my jam.  If I eat well year round, there will be no need for leaning out or drastic dieting.  I will be blissfully happy as I will not be at war with myself or with food.  Peace will be found and it’s all in my hands.  So what’s the plan?

Carb cycling.  I have discovered that I respond really well to a lower carbohydrate intake.  When I say I respond really well what I mean is I feel my best on a lower carbohydrate intake.  I feel freed from bloat, constipation, lethargy, and mood swings.  So why consume carbohydrates at all?  Well, 1st of all, your body absolutely needs carbohydrates.  Essentially this is what your brain fuel consists of.  No carbs = super ditzy, moody, irritable Kari.  2ndly, your muscles have stores of carbohydrates (glycogen) which I need for my big lifts.  I want to continue to compete and be my beautiful athletic self, muscles and all.

By carb cycling, I can feel awesome and fuel my workouts, all while dropping any excess weight that I put on from the holidays.  I will no longer feel constipated which is a downright miracle.  Do you understand the freedom of being able to poop everyday??  Honor that freedom cause if you were in my poopflops and didn’t go for 4 days, you’d be pretty damn uncomfortable and probably a bitch.

I will eat low carb just about everyday, and on my heavy lifting day I will increase my carbs.  Fitness Rx just posted an article covering the basics of carb cycling.  I have a plan for the month and will make adjustments if necessary but for the most part I will be following:

  • Low carbohydrate days:  

    • Carbohydrates:  50g to no more than 150g
    • Protein:  minimum of 150g up to 225g
  • High Carbohydrate Days:

    • Carbohydrates:  300g up to 450g
    • Protein:  minimum of 150g up to 225g

I will not use my high carb days as binge days or free for alls.  Remember, one reason behind all of this is to make peace with food.  I don’t want to face a box of donuts and lose every time.  I want to trust my instinct and know that just one of those donuts makes me feel like shit(lethargic, bloated, cranky) and chose a source of carbohydrates that can be found in nature:  sweet potato, brown rice, oats, quinoa, apples, squash, etc.

New notebook to fill with new plans.  Growth is more readily available to you with just alittle planning!

New notebook to fill with new plans. Growth is more readily available to you with just alittle planning!

Breakfast, the low carb way.

Breakfast, the low carb way.

Lunches are super easy and fun when following a low carb/fresh foods path!

Lunches are super easy and fun when following a low carb/fresh foods path!

The plan!  Workouts and carb cycling!

The plan! Workouts and carb cycling!

Leave a Reply

